Church of the Friars Minor

 
Church of the Friars Minor – Late Baroque gem
Church of the Friars Minor – Late Baroque gem

Church of the Friars Minor – Late Baroque gem

The Church of the Friars Minor was completed in 1739 and renovated in 1990. It is among the loveliest Late Baroque churches in Austria. The impressive ancillary spaces of the church transport visitors to days long past. They have remained unchanged to the present as an ensemble comprising the Loreto chapel, sacristy, crypt, and hermitage. The church is dedicated to the Virgin Mary and Saint John of Nepomuk.

Subterranean mysteries

The Church of the Friars Minor has so many intriguing nooks and crannies steeped in history. The best way to explore them is on a tour through the ancient pile. To name just one mysterious detail: The hermitage consists of four underground rooms whose exact use has not passed down. But one feature is distinctly recognizable: The walls of the two larger cells are plastered with cinders and shells and decorated with large plaster crosses colored white.

Tour: Daily from about 8:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m., tours on prior arrangement and as part of historical city tours.

 

Adress:
Minoritenplatz 1
A-3430 Tulln, Austria

Monastery of the Friars Minor

The Friars Minor are a mendicant order (also known simply as “Franciscans”) and settled in the northeast corner of the then rich city on the Danube back in the 13th c. The only element of their earlier monastery left is a Gothic chapel, which can be seen in the documentation “Tulln unter der Erde” (subterranean Tulln).

Resettled in the 17th c

The monastery was then abandoned during the Reformation and not re-inhabited again until 1635. It was rebuilt from 1713 to 1756 in Late Gothic style. In 1807 the Monastery of the Friars Minor was shut down and in 1827 the building became a school for the imperial corps of engineers. Then the building was modified in 1858 and turned into barracks, making Tulln a garrison city.

From residential space to work space

In the 20th c, the former monastery provided space for social housing; from 1990 to 1993 it was extensively renovated. Today it contains the Tulln city hall, the sugar museum and special event spaces. It can be toured only as part of special events.

Minoritenkirche

 
Minoritenkirche - Spätbarockes Juwel
Minoritenkirche - Spätbarockes Juwel

Minoritenkirche - Spätbarockes Juwel

Die Minoritenkirche, fertiggestellt 1739 und renoviert 1990, zählt zu den schönsten spätbarocken Kirchen des Landes. Die eindrucksvollen Nebenräume entführen in vergangene Zeiten - Loretto-Kapelle, Sakristei, Krypta und Eremitage bilden ein Ensemble, das bis heute unverändert geblieben ist. Die Kirche ist der unbefleckten Jungfrau Maria und dem hl. Johannes Nepomuk geweiht.

Geheimnisvolles unter der Erde

Die vielen spannenden und geschichtsumwobenen Ecken der Minoritenkirche entdeckt man am besten bei einer Führung durch das alte Gemäuer. Um nur ein geheimnisvolles Detail zu nennen: Die Eremitage oder auch "Einsiedelei" besteht aus vier unterirdischen Räumen, über deren exakte Verwendung nichts überliefert ist. Noch deutlich zu erkennen ist aber: Die Wände der beiden größeren Zellen sind mit Schlacke verputzt und mit Muscheln und großen, weiß gefärbelten Putzkreuzen verziert.

Besichtigung: Täglich von ca. 8.00 - 17.00 Uhr, Führungen nach Vereinbarung und im Rahmen der historischen Stadtführungen.

 

Adresse
Minoritenplatz 1
3430 Tulln

Minoritenkloster

Minoritenkloster

Der Bettelorden der Minoriten (Fratres minores - "Mindere Brüder" auch "Schwarze Franziskaner") siedelte sich schon im 13. Jh. an der Nordostecke der damals reichen Donaustadt an. Von ihrem frühen Klosterbau ist nur mehr eine gotische Kapelle erhalten, die in der Dokumentation "Tulln unter der Erde" zu sehen ist.

Neu-Besiedelung im 17. Jhdt.

Während der Reformation wurde das Klostergebäude verlassen und erst 1635 neu besiedelt. Das Klostergebäude wurde 1713-56 im spätgotischen Stil großzügig neu errichtet. 1807 wurde der Minoritenkonvent geschlossen und 1827 im Gebäude eine Schule des kaiserlichen Pioniercorps errichtet. 1858 wurde das Gebäude umgebaut und in eine Kaserne umgewandelt, wodurch Tulln Garnisonsstadt wurde.

Von Wohnraum zu Arbeitsraum

Im 20. Jhdt. bot das ehemalige Kloster Raum für Sozialwohnungen, 1990 bis 1993 wurde das Gebäude großzügig saniert. Heute befindet sich hier das Tullner Rathaus, das Zuckermuseum und Veranstaltungsräume. Besichtigung ist nur im Rahmen von Veranstaltungen möglich.

Newsletter Anmeldung