Egon Schiele Museum

 
Egon Schiele Museum – the beginning
Egon Schiele Museum – the beginning

Egon Schiele Museum – the beginning

“He spent every free hour he had out in the meadows along the brook or in the woods drawing with colored pencils, sheet after sheet of his sketching pad.”

This is how a friend of the family remembered the teenager Egon, who had just started his studies at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. It is no wonder that the subjects of his early oil paintings are cityscapes and landscapes. His initial successes with exhibitions began when the sixteen year-old showed his work together with established artists of Klosterneuburg.

Early Paintings in the Egon Schiele Museum
The current exhibition features Egon Schiele’s early paintings. While the artist created these works in his teen years shortly after enrolling in the Vienna Academy, their image content clearly points to Klosterneuburg. Town and landscapes are the dominant themes of these early oils, which are mostly based on sketches from nature. The current exhibition at the Egon Schiele Museum features sixteen oil paintings form 1907 and 1908, which makes it the most comprehensive show ever devoted to Schiele’s early paintings. It brings together the complete respective holdings of Landessammlungen Niederösterreich as well as works from Städtische Sammlung Tulln and private collections.

Address:
Donaulände 28
A-3430 Tulln an der Donau
Phone 02272 64570
Fax 02272 64116
info@egon-schiele.eu

Learning from Schiele

The Egon Schiele Museum offers age-specific educational programs with playful approaches to art and one’s own creative works along with dialog-based guided tours.
For further information, please click here.

Reading about Schiele

A comprehensive book with the same title as the exhibition delves into Schiele’s early years, combining the latest biographical findings on the artist with an analysis and depiction of his most important works. “Egon Schiele – Der Anfang” was published by Herder-Verlag in 2013. It is available at the Schiele Museum for € 29 (instead of the regular price of € 34.90). For further information and details on the life and work of Egon Schiele: Homepage Egon Schiele Museum

Egon-Schiele-Museum

 
Egon Schiele Museum - Der Anfang
Egon Schiele Museum - Der Anfang

Egon Schiele Museum - Der Anfang

"Jede freie Stunde war er draußen auf den Wiesen am Bachbett oder in den Wäldern und bezeichnete mit Farbstiften Blatt für Blatt seines Zeichenblocks."

So erinnert sich ein Freund der Familie an den Teenager Egon, der gerade sein Studium an der Wiener Akademie begonnen hat. Es ist daher nicht verwunderlich, dass die Themen der frühen Ölbilder Stadt- und Naturlandschaften sind. Auch erste Ausstellungserfolge stellen sich ein, als der Sechzehnjährige mit den etablierten Künstlern Klosterneuburgs ausstellt.

Frühe Gemälde im Egon Schiele Museum
Die aktuelle Ausstellung steht im Zeichen der frühen Gemälde Egon Schieles. Die Werke entstehen zwar unmittelbar nach Studienbeginn des Teenagers an der Wiener Akademie, doch ihre Bildinhalte weisen eindeutig nach Klosterneuburg. Stadt- und Naturlandschaften sind das vorherrschende Thema der frühen Ölbilder, die zumeist nach Skizzen vor der Natur entstehen. Mit 16 Ölbildern der Jahre 1907 bis 1908 zeigt das Egon Schiele Museum die umfassendste Ausstellung, die jemals den frühen Gemälden Schieles gewidmet wurde. Ermöglicht wird dies durch die Präsentation der kompletten diesbezüglichen Bestände der Landessammlungen Niederösterreich, ergänzt durch Werke der Städtischen Sammlung Tulln und aus Privatbesitz.

Anschrift:
Donaulände 28
3430 Tulln an der Donau
Tel. 02272 64570
Fax 02272 64116
info@egon-schiele.eu

Schiele zum Nachmachen

Das Egon Schiele Museum bietet altersspezifische Vermittlungsprogramme mit spielerischen Kunstbetrachtungen und eigenen kreativen Arbeiten, sowie dialogorientierte Führungen an.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Schiele zum Lesen

Gleichlautend mit der Ausstellung werden die Anfänge Schieles in einem umfassenden Buch dargestellt, das neueste Erkenntnisse zur Biografie mit der Analyse und Abbildung der wichtigsten Werke vereint. Das Buch "Egon Schiele - Der Anfang" ist 2013 im Herder-Verlag erschienen. Erhältlich im Schiele-Museum um € 29,- (statt Normalpreis: € 34,90). Weitere Informationen und Details zum Leben und Schaffen von Egon Schiele: Homepage Egon Schiele Museum

 

 

 

Aktuelles Wetter in Tulln