Tulln’s eventful history

 
20 centuries of history in Tulln
20 centuries of history in Tulln
20 centuries of history in Tulln

20 centuries of history in Tulln

It was winter in the 1st c AD. Roman troops were stationed along the Danube. Armed cavalry troops patrolled the northern border of the Roman Empire. It was high time to build a defense installation for protection. The ideal site was soon found. Fort Comagena sprung up overnight. And with it came the first foundation walls in Tulln; a city with a history 2,000 years old.  

Tulln is one of Austria’s oldest cities because of its exposed location on the banks of the Danube. The ancient Romans saw the obvious advantage of this site. Calvary troops stationed at Fort Comagena protected the Noric Limes, controlled the militarily important ford  and guarded the fertile Tulln Basin well into the 4th c AD. From Late Antiquity on, Comagena was also a base for the Danube fleet. In the final years of Roman rule, word has it that St Severin paid a visit to the city and saved it from the barbarians in a miraculous way.

World-shattering

Tulln was already referred to as an urban settlement in 791. In 985/991 the nobles of the young margravate gathered together here, thereby launching what would later become Austria. Tulln was also a venue for the estates assemblies and court hearings. From the 11th century onward, Tulln returned to center stage in international events. The Babenberg dynasty designated Tulln as their residence. Tulln flourished as a trade center and was even mentioned in the Song of the Nibelung, a famous German epic written around 1200.  It extols the meeting that took place in Tulln between Attila the Hun, aka King Etzel, and Kriemhild, the widow of Siegfried. The couple traveled from here to their wedding in Vienna. From the 14th c on, the city was afflicted by Turkish invasions, floods and the Thirty Year’s War. The next economic upturn for Tulln did not occur until the 1870s, with the building of a railroad known as Franz-Josefs-Bahn and a bridge over the Danube. 

Memorable

Tulln still has many monuments to golden eras in the past. Their preservation can be attributed to the local citizens sense of tradition and civic pride. The residents of Tulln take an active part in new projects but also hang on to the tried and tested. The Hauptplatz is a good example. Following it's makeover, this historical main square and 'living room' of locals is an intriguing mix of the traditional and the modern.

Historical development of the city

Tulln environs inhabited since Neolithic times

1st c              Establishment of Roman cavalry fort “Comagenis”

5th c              Fort fell into ruin

9th c              Resettlement, first mention of Tulln: “Tullina”, 859 AD

12th/13th c   Danube trade; estates assemblies since 1081; parish founded in 1014; Land judges; city expansion and construction of the town walls; city charter in 1270; Romanesque parish church in 1170; charnel in 1250; Imperial Convent in 1290


14th c            Fairs, Gothic makeover of parish church


From 15th c   Decline to a city of farmer burghers due to the shifting of the trade routes; Turkish threat in 1529; loss in significance due to floods, fires, loss of population and debt. Gathering point for the relief army to save Vienna in 1683.


19th c            Population growth (1800: 1,500 inhabitants; 1900: 4,000 inhabitants); razing of the city walls from 1861 onward and expansion of the city. At the end of this century, local trade and commerce made Tulln the center of the up-and-coming Tulln Basin, which was still dominated by farming.

20th c            Start of industrialization with sugar factory in 1936; first institution of higher learning (gymnasium in 1932). Along with numerous other victims, World War II claimed the lives of 87 civilians in the bombardment on 11 December 1944; also the most massive destruction in the city's history. On 8 April 1945 the Danube bridge was blown up and the city was occupied by the Red Army. Withdrawal of the Russians on 13 June 1955.

1986              A candidate for becoming the Lower Austrian capital; subsequently assigned a number of provincial governmental functions: agriculture, trade fairs, Red Cross, fire department, civilian and disaster protection.

Tullns bewegte Geschichte

 
20 Jahrhunderte Tulln
20 Jahrhunderte Tulln
20 Jahrhunderte Tulln

20 Jahrhunderte Tulln

Winter im 1. Jahrhundert n. Chr.: Römische Truppen haben sich entlang der Donau stationiert. Bewaffnete Reiter kontrollieren den nördlichen Grenzwall des römischen Reiches. Höchste Zeit, eine Wehranlage zu errichten, die Schutz bietet. Der richtige Ort ist bald gefunden. Kastell Comagena wächst aus dem Boden. Und mit ihm die ersten Grundmauern Tullns. Einer Stadt mit 2000jähriger Geschichte.  

Dass Tulln eine der ältesten Städte Österreichs ist, verdankt es seiner exponierten Lage direkt an den Ufern der Donau. Bereits die Römer sahen darin einen klaren Vorteil: Bis ins 4. Jahrhundert schützten die im Kastell Comagena stationierten Reitertruppen den norischen Limes, kontrollierten die militärisch bedeutsame Furt und überwachten das fruchtbare Tullnerfeld. Ab der Spätantike war Comagena sogar Flottenstützpunkt der Donauflotte. In den letzten Jahren der Römerherrschaft wird außerdem von einem Besuch des hl. Severin und der wunderbaren Rettung der Stadt vor den Barbaren berichtet.

Weltbewegend

Bereits 791 wird Tulln als städtische Siedlung genannt. 985/991 traten hier die Adeligen der jungen Marktgrafschaft zusammen und hoben dadurch Österreich aus der Taufe. Auch wurden die Land- und Gerichtstage durch Jahrhunderte in Tulln abgehalten. Ab dem 11. Jahrhundert rückte Tulln abermals ins Zentrum des damaligen Weltgeschehens. Das Herrschergeschlecht der Babenberger machte die Stadt zu seiner Residenz. Tulln florierte als Handelsplatz und fand sogar Erwähnung im Nibelungenlied, das um das Jahr 1200 entstand. Es besingt das Treffen des Hunnenkönigs Etzel mit Kriemhild, der Witwe Siegfrieds, in Tulln. Von hier aus reiste das Paar gemeinsam zu seiner Hochzeit nach Wien. Ab dem 14. Jahrhundert setzten Türkeneinfälle, Überschwemmungen und der Dreißigjährige Krieg der Stadt zu. Erst mit dem Bau der Franz-Josefs-Bahn und einer Brücke über die Donau in den 1870er Jahren erlebte Tulln einen neuerlichen Aufschwung.  

Erinnerungsträchtig

Aus den vergangenen Jahrhunderten hat Tulln zahlreiche Zeugen großer Zeiten in die Gegenwart gerettet – vom romanischen Karner bei der Stadtpfarrkirche bis zum intakten Ensemble gotischer und barocker Häuser im Stadtzentrum. Diese Unversehrtheit verdankt die Stadt nicht zuletzt dem Traditionsbewusstsein und dem Bürgersinn seiner BewohnerInnen, die sich aktiv an neuen Projekten beteiligen und gleichzeitig für den Erhalt von Altbewährtem einsetzen. So präsentiert sich zum Beispiel Tullns „Wohnzimmer“, der neu gestaltete, historische Hauptplatz, als spannende Mischung aus Tradition und Moderne.

Historische Entwicklung der Stadt

Umland seit dem Neolithikum besiedelt
1.Jh.Gründung des römischen Kastells "Comagenis"
5. Jh.Verfall des Kastells
9. Jh.Wiederbesiedlung, erste Nennung Tullns: "Tullina", 859
12./13. Jh.Donauhandel; Landesversammlungen seit 1081; Pfarrgründung 1014; Landrichter; Stadterweiterung und Mauerbau; Stadtrecht 1270; romanische Stadtpfarrkirche 1170; Karner 1250; Frauenstift 1290
14. Jh.Jahrmärkte, Gotisierung der Pfarrkirche
ab 15. Jh.Niedergang zum Ackerbürgerstädtchen durch die Verlagerung der Handelswege; Bedrohung durch die Türken 1529; Verlust an Bedeutung aufgrund von Hochwässern, Bränden, Bevölkerungsverlust und Verschuldung. 1683 Sammlungsort des Entsatzheeres für Wien
19. Jh.Bevölkerungswachstum (1800: 1.500 EW, 1900: 4.000 EW); Abbruch der Stadtmauern ab 1861 und Stadterweiterung. Tulln wurde Ende dieses Jahrhunderts mit Lokalhandel und Gewerbe Zentrum des aufstrebenden, noch landwirtschaftlich geprägten Tullnerfeldes
20. Jh.Beginn der Industrialisierung mit der Zuckerfabrik 1936; erste höhere Bildungseinrichtung (Gymnasium 1932). Der 2. Weltkrieg forderte neben vielen Opfern auch 87 Zivilopfer beim Bombenangriff am 11. Dezember 1944, zugleich auch die größten Zerstörungen der Stadtgeschichte. Am 8. April 1945 Sprengung der Donaubrücke und Besetzung der Stadt durch die Rote Armee. Am 13. Juni 1955 Abzug der Russen.
1986Bewerbung um die Funktion der nö. Landeshauptstadt, in der Folge Erlangung zahlreicher landeshauptstädtischer Funktionen: Agrarwesen, Messewesen, Rotes Kreuz, Feuerwehr, Zivil- und Katastrophenschutz

 

 

 

Aktuelles Wetter in Tulln

Bewölkt