Art and culture in the region

 
The classical and the modern
The classical and the modern
The classical and the modern
The classical and the modern
The classical and the modern

The classical and the modern

The classical and the modern. Theater, music and exhibitions. There is a lively cultural scene in this city just outside the gates of Vienna. The series of summer events is colorful and varied. The many museums provide fascinating insights.

Music and theater

Schubertiaden
are staged in June and September at Atzenbrugg Castle , where Franz Schubert holidayed with friends.  Sommerspiele is a summer theater festival held in June at lovely Sitzenberg Castle . Cabaret and music are available throughout the summer in the lineup of events for Donaubühne Tulln.

Stockerauer Festspiele present entertaining theater in July and August in the picturesque square in front of the town’s Baroque church. Small-scale performing arts, music of all styles and a Brass Festival are in store for visitors to the Kultursommer Traismauer

The musical offerings at Korneuburger Musiksommer are classical and nostalgic. The imperial courtyard at Klosterneuburg Abbey becomes an opera venue in July and August.  Grafenegg Castle stages Musik-Sommer from mid-June to mid-August. The artistic highlight is the music festival from mid-August to mid-September. Event venues are the new concert hall and the architecturally intriguing open-air stage “Wolkenturm” (cloud tower) that projects upward 15 m into the sky.

The Pleyel Society stages  concerts and matinees on a regular basis in memory of  Ignaz Josef Pleyel, the most popular composer in Europe around the year 1800. At Haus der Musik in Grafenwörth there are concerts held throughout the year.

Art to appreciate

Egon Schiele, Austria’s most significant painter and Expressionist, grew up in in Tulln. The city opened the Egon Schiele Museum right on Donaulände as a monument to its famous native son. The museum is in the former district jail and contains 16 original works.

One of the most remarkable private art initiatives in Europe is Sammlung Essl. In his modern museum in Klosterneuburg, art collector Karlheinz Essl presents contemporary art and alternating exhibitions. Museum Gugging is located in Maria Gugging near Klosterneuburg. It is unique worldwide in that it is housed in a psychiatric building. The focus is on Art Brut exhibitions. Art Brut is autodidactic art done by amateurs, children and handicapped individuals. Back in the early 1980s Art Brut Center Gugging devoted itself to the appreciation of this movement and is today one of the most important centers of its kind with a gallery and a museum for visitors.

At the Monastery of the Friar Minors in Tulln the focus is on alternating exhibitions of visual arts from different centuries. Hundertwasser’s ship “Regentag” is at anchor in the harbor behind the monastery. It was once the home and workplace of the well-known Austrian artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser. Visitors obtain an authentic insight into the artist’s life on a tour of this vessel.

 
City and life in the region
City and life in the region
City and life in the region
City and life in the region
City and life in the region

City and life in the region

The cities along the Danube are places that attract culture lovers and adventurers. Strolling, looking and enjoying: The cities along the Danube tell interesting stories. Painters, writers and thinkers have found inspiration here during all periods of history. Today visitors are enchanted by the cityscapes so full of atmosphere and by the general attitude toward life: openness to stimuli and excitement yet acceptance of rest and leisure.

Tulln, the Garden City

Numerous fountains, the Danube promenade, the newly redone main square – Tulln is impressive for its special ambience and myriad places of interest. The charnel and the Gothic parish church are witnesses to times long past. The Egon Schiele Museum showcases paintings of the famous painter Egon Schiele, who grew up in Tulln. Other sights well-worth visiting are the Roman Museum and the exhibitions in the Monastery of the Friars Minor and GARTEN TULLN. In the summer, music and cabaret can be enjoyed on Donaubühne, the open-air stage on the river.

Stockerau

The first documented mention of Stockerau in 1012 related to the martyrdom of St. Koloman. The German-language Austrian poet Nikolaus Lenau spent his holidays in his youth in Stockerau and began writing his “Schilflieder” (Reed Poems) there. The landmark of the city is the yellow-and-white 88 m high tower of the Baroque parish church. Stockerauer Festspiele is a fine summer theater festival directed by Zeno Stanek.

Roman city of Traismauer

The cityscape is dominated by structures from Roman times and the Gothic era. The 1,700 year old Roman Gate and Roman Hunger Tower are well worth seeing. The castle on the main square rests on the foundations of a small Roman fort. The Lay of the Nibelung tells us that Kriemhild once stayed the night in the castle. Traismauer is a good base for bicyclists. Both the Traisen Valley Bike Path and the Danube Bike Path pass through the formerly Roman city.

Korneuburg

The Neo-Gothic city hall from 1895 is the landmark of the city of Korneuburg. The medieval center is the perfect setting for leisurely shopping, summer concerts, and weddings. Its places of interest include the Gothic parish church, the Baroque Augustinian Church, the Pied Piper Fountain, the Trinity Column and one of the oldest synagogues in Lower Austria.

Klosterneuburg

Klosterneuburg is near Vienna nestled between vineyards and the Danube. The spiritual and cultural center of the city is Klosterneuburg Abbey, founded by the Augustinian Canons about 900 years ago. The most precious art treasure in the abbey is the medieval Verdun Altar. In the summer an inner courtyard becomes the venue for “operklosterneuburg”, the abbey’s opera festival. Art Brut is displayed in Museum Gugging while contemporary art is the focus of the Essl Museum.

Kunst & Kultur in der Region

 
Klassisches und Modernes
Klassisches und Modernes
Klassisches und Modernes
Klassisches und Modernes
Klassisches und Modernes

Klassisches und Modernes

Klassisches und Modernes. Theater, Musik und Ausstellungen. Vor den Toren Wiens regt sich ein frisches Kulturleben. Der sommerliche Veranstaltungsreigen ist bunt und abwechslungsreich. Spannende Einblicke geben die zahlreichen Museen.

Musik und Theater

Auf Schloss Atzenbrugg, wo Franz Schubert mit Freunden urlaubte, finden im Juni und September Schubertiaden statt. Die Sommerspiele im schönen Ambiente von Schloss Sitzenberg führen im Juni Theater auf. Kabarett und Musik stehen den ganzen Sommer hindurch auf dem Programm der Donaubühne Tulln.

Die Stockerauer Festspiele präsentieren im Juli und August auf dem malerischen Platz vor der barocken Stadtkirche unterhaltsames Theater. Kleinkunst, Musik aller Stilrichtungen und ein Brassfestival gestaltet der Kultursommer Traismauer.

Klassisches und Nostalgisches ist beim Korneuburger Musiksommer zu hören. Der Kaiserhof des Chorherrenstiftes Klosterneuburg ist im Juli und August Schauplatz der operklosterneuburg. In Schloss Grafenegg konzertiert der Musik-Sommer von Mitte Juni bis Mitte August. Künstlerischer Höhepunkt ist das Musik-Festival von Mitte August bis Mitte September.Veranstaltungsorte sind der neue Konzertsaal und die architektonisch außergewöhnliche Freilichtbühne »Wolkenturm«, die 15 Meter hoch in die Luft ragt.

Im Gedenken an Ignaz Josef Pleyel, um 1800 einer der populärsten Komponisten Europas, veranstaltet die Pleyel-Gesellschaft regelmäßig Konzerte und Matineen. Im »Haus der Musik« in Grafenwörth finden rund ums Jahr Konzerte statt.

Kunstsinniges

Egon Schiele, der bedeutende österreichische Maler und Expressionist, wuchs in Tulln auf. Mit dem Egon Schiele Museum, direkt an der Donaulände in Tulln, hat die Stadtgemeinde ihrem großen Sohn ein Denkmal gesetzt. Das Museum ist im ehemaligen Bezirksgefängnis untergebracht. Zu sehen sind 16 Originalwerke des Künstlers.

Eine der bemerkenswertesten privaten Kunst-Initiativen Europas ist die Sammlung Essl: Kunstsammler Karlheinz Essl präsentiert in seinem modern gestalteten Museum in Klosterneuburg Kunst der Gegenwart und wechselnde Ausstellungen. In Maria Gugging bei Klosterneuburg ist das Museum Gugging – w eltweit einzigartig – in einem Psychiatriegebäude untergebracht. Zu sehen sind vorwiegend Ausstellungen zur Kunstrichtung Art Brut. Art Brut steht für autodidaktische Kunst von Laien, Kindern und Menschen mit Behinderung. Bereits seit den frühen 1980er Jahren hat sich das Art Brut Center Gugging diesem Verständnis verschrieben und ist heute eines der wichtigsten Zentren dieser Art, das seinen Besuchern eine Galerie und ein Museum bietet.

Bildnerische Kunst aus verschiedenen Jahrhunderten steht im Mittelpunkt der wechselnden Ausstellungen im Minoritenkloster in Tulln. Im Hafen hinter dem Minoritenkloster liegt seit 2004 das Hunderwasser-Schiff »Regentag«. Es war einst Wohnsitz und Arbeitsplatz des bekannten Künstlers Friedensreich Hundertwasser. Besucher erhalten hier einen authentischen Einblick in das Leben des Künstlers.

 
Stadt & Leben in der Region
Stadt & Leben in der Region
Stadt & Leben in der Region
Stadt & Leben in der Region
Stadt & Leben in der Region

Stadt & Leben in der Region

Treffpunkte für Kulturinteressierte und Unternehmungslustige sind die Städte an der Donau. Bummeln, schauen und genießen: Die Städte an der Donau erzählen interessante Geschichten. Zu allen Zeiten fanden hier Maler, Dichter und Denker Inspiration. Heute bezaubern die stimmungsvollen Stadtbilder und das Lebensgefühl, das Anregung bietet und gleichzeitig Raum für Muße lässt.

Gartenmetropole Tulln

Zahlreiche Brunnen, die Donau-Promenade, der neu gestaltete Hauptplatz – Tulln beeindruckt mit besonders schönem Ambiente und viel Sehenswertem. Der Karner und die gotische Stadtpfarrkirche sind Zeugen vergangener Zeiten. Werke des berühmten Malers Egon Schiele, er wuchs in Tulln auf, zeigt das Egon-Schiele-Museum. Besuchenswert sind auch das Römermuseum, die Ausstellungen im Minoritenkloster und DIE GARTEN TULLN. Auf der Donaubühne sind im Sommer Musik und Kabarett zu hören.

Stockerau

Die erste urkundliche Erwähnung von Stockerau im Jahr 1012 geht auf den Märtyrertod des Heiligen Koloman zurück. Der Dichter Nikolaus Lenau etwa verbrachte als Jugendlicher seine Ferien in Stockerau und begann hier seine »Schilflieder« zu schreiben. Das Wahrzeichen der Stadt ist der gelb-weiße 88 Meter hohe Turm der barocken Stadtpfarrkirche. Für erlesenen Kulturgenuss im Sommer sorgen die Stockerauer Festspiele unter der Leitung des Intendanten Zeno Stanek.

Römerstadt Traismauer

Bauten aus der Römerzeit und der Gotik prägen das Stadtbild. Sehenswert sind das 1.700 Jahre alte Römertor und der römische Hungerturm. Das Schloss am Hauptplatz steht auf den Fundamenten eines römischen Kleinkastells. Das Nibelungenlied erzählt, dass Kriemhild einst im Schloss übernachtete. Traismauer ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt für Radfahrer: sowohl der Traisentalradweg als auch der Donauradweg führen durch die ehemalige Römerstadt.

Korneuburg

Das neugotische Rathaus von 1895 ist das Wahrzeichen der Stadt Korneuburg. Das mittelalterliche Zentrum ist der perfekte Rahmen für gemütliche Einkaufsbummel, Sommerkonzerte und für Hochzeiten. Sehenswert sind die gotische Stadtpfarrkirche, die barocke Augustinerkirche, der Rattenfängerbrunnen, die Dreifaltigkeitssäule und eine der ältesten Synagogen Niederösterreichs.

Klosterneuburg

Nahe bei Wien, zwischen Weinbergen und der Donau, liegt Klosterneuburg. Geistiges und kulturelles Zentrum der Stadt ist das Stift Klosterneuburg, vor rund 900 Jahren von Augustiner Chorherren gegründet. Kostbarster Kunstbesitz des Stiftes ist der Verduner Altar aus dem Mittelalter. Im Sommer ist der Schlosshof Schauplatz der operklosterneuburg. Art Brut zeigt das Museum Gugging, Kunst der Gegenwart ist im Essl-Museum zu sehen.