Welcome to Tulln, the Art City

 
Tulln: flourishing city of fine arts
Tulln: flourishing city of fine arts
Tulln: flourishing city of fine arts

Tulln: flourishing city of fine arts

It is the edgy contrasts and surprising consonances that make Tulln a small but quite fine center of art. Consider the revitalized Egon Schiele Museum and “Regentag”, Hundertwasser’s colorful ship; the Roman Museum so steeped in history and the contemporary exhibition spaces in the Monastery of the Friars Minor. 

Idyllic cityscapes, picturesque countryside and provocative portraits. These pictures made Egon Schiele famous. On his 100th birthday, Tulln opened a museum dedicated to its best known favorite son. In June 2013 the city set another monument for the world famous artist. His birthplace at the main train station was converted into an experiential space that whisks visitors away on an exploration of the artist’s childhood in Tulln. An Egon Schiele Trail is being planned. It will cover the major stations of his childhood in Tulln.  

Historical

Today, Tulln visitors are already exploring the vestiges of the ancient Romans. One structure that is especially well-preserved is the Roman Tower, one of the oldest buildings in Austria. Anyone who has visited the Roman Museum comes away with an idea of what military and civilian life might have been like in the Roman cavalry fort of Comagena between 90 and 500 AD. This Danube city was also a residence of the Babenberg dynasty and a thriving trade center. It was from this time that the art historical gem of the city dates: the Romanesque charnel , built in the 13th c and one of the most significant structures of its kind in Europe. The two 49 m high towers of the St. Stephen’s parish church are visible from far and wide. And the imposing Church of the Friars Minor holds many a treasure. 

Contemporary

The historical center of Tulln with its burgher houses is an open-air museum in itself. Hauptplatz, the main square, underwent major renovation in 2009. Among its most striking buildings are the district commissioner’s office built in Vienna Ringstrasse style in 1891 and a Renaissance building with Venetian crenellations. The square is lined with shops and outdoor seating for cafes and restaurants. In the very middle is a Baroque trinity column that attests to the piety of the city residents. The  fountains of the city also have tales to tell. The ship  Regentag takes us out into the big, wide world, at least in thought. Once owned by the painter Friedensreich Hundertwasser, it is now at anchor in the marina behind the Monastery of the Friars Minor and can be toured on prior arrangement .

Willkommen in der Kunststadt

 
Tulln: die blühende Stadt der schönen Künste
Tulln: die blühende Stadt der schönen Künste
Tulln: die blühende Stadt der schönen Künste

Tulln: die blühende Stadt der schönen Künste

Vom revitalisierten Egon-Schiele-Museum zum bunten Hundertwasserschiff „Regentag“, vom geschichtsträchtigen Römermuseum in die kontemporären Ausstellungsräume des Minoriten­klosters: Es sind die spannungsgeladenen Gegensätze und überraschenden Gleichklänge, die Tulln zur kleinen, aber feinen Kunst-Stadt machen. 

Idyllische Stadtansichten, malerische Landschaften und provokante Portraits. Mit diesen Bildern wurde Egon Schiele berühmt. Zum 100. Geburtstag widmete Tulln seinem bekanntesten Sohn ein eigenes Museum. Im Juni 2013 setzte die Stadt ein weiteres Denkmal für den weltbekannten Künstler: Das Geburtshaus am Hauptbahnhof wurde als Erlebniswelt gestaltet, die in die Kindheit des Künstlers in Tulln entführt. In Planung ist ein Egon-Schiele-Weg, der auf den Spuren des Malers zu den Stationen seiner Kindheit durch Tulln führt.  

Historisch

Auf den Spuren der Römer wandeln die Tulln-Besucher schon heute. Besonders gut erhalten ist der Römerturm, eines der ältesten Gebäude Österreichs. Wer das Römermuseum besichtigt, bekommt eine Vorstellung davon, wie das militärische und zivile Leben im Römerlager Comagena zwischen 90 bis 500 nach Christus ausgesehen haben mag. Die Stadt an der Donau war außerdem Residenz der Babenberger und ein zentraler Handelsplatz. Aus dieser Zeit stammt das kunsthistorische Juwel der Stadt: der romanische Karner, im 13. Jahrhundert gebaut und einer der bedeutendsten seiner Art in Europa. Weithin sichtbar sind die beiden 49 Meter hohen Türme der Pfarrkirche St. Stephan. Und auch die imposante Minoritenkirche birgt so manches Juwel in sich. 

Zeitgenössisch

Als „Open Air“-Museum präsentiert sich die Tullner Innenstadt mit ihren historischen Bürgerhäusern. Die markantesten Gebäude am neu gestalteten Hauptplatz sind die 1891 im Stil der Wiener Ringstraßengebäude errichtete Bezirkshauptmannschaft und ein Renaissancebau mit venezianischen Zinnen. In der Mitte des Platzes, gesäumt von Geschäften und Schanigärten, zeugt die barocke Dreifaltigkeitssäule von der Frömmigkeit der Stadtbewohner. Auch die Brunnen der Stadt erzählen Geschichten. In die weite Welt entführt, zumindest in Gedanken, das Schiff „Regentag“. Einst im Besitz des Malers Friedensreich Hundertwasser, liegt es nun im Gästehafen hinter dem Minoritenkloster vor Anker und kann gegen Voranmeldung besichtigt werden.