Art and gardens harmoniously wed

 
Art in the garden

Art in the garden

An ape outdoors deep in thought, a maze hidden among towering old trees and signs pointing to Canada in the lowland riparian forest – all these things await visitors interested in seeing how art weds to gardens in Tulln.

At the invitation of a Lower Austrian initiative on public art, five artists reflected on the connection between art and gardens and created intriguing works of art on the subject. These artworks invite people on a new kind of stroll through Tulln, the green city of art and gardens. Some works are freely accessible in Tulln Water Park and others are at GARTEN TULLN.  

Artworks in the water park:

“Conversation” by Klaus Weber

An ape is perched in the distance, in a clearing in the Tulln Water Park. He is sitting on a stack of books and looking at a human skull. A compass and light bulb can also be seen. This work by the Berlin artist Klaus Weber depicts a philosophizing ape, a subject of the 19th c, and alludes to Charles Darwin’s theory of man descending from the apes. The sculpture is intended as a criticism of the anthropocentric view of the world – of human beings always putting themselves in the center of reality in the world. The ape gives the viewer cause to think: Who are we? What is our relationship with nature and with the world?

“From Gasoline to Sugar Beet” by Nils Norman

The sculptures by the British conceptual artist Nils Norman camouflage themselves as a guidance system, as harmless traffic signs at the junctions of paths. The things written on the signs are intriguing, however. An arrow points in the direction of atomic power while hydro-power is in the other direction. Brazil is in that direction; behind the Arab Emirates is geothermal energy. The underlying idea of this fascinating installation is this: Many issues lie waste in the brambles of energy-producing countries, expensive raw materials and alternative energies. With his chaos metaphor, Norman draws our attention to the persistent oil crisis and the hope that springs from alternative forms of energy.

Art works at GARTEN TULLN:

„Flat World!“ – Dan Perjovschi

The Romanian artist Dan Perjovschi understands the world by drawing it. A few lines, a handful of curt words quickly scribbled down become ironic commentary on society, politics and culture. In Tulln, Perjovschi created one of his rare permanent works, rare because he defines himself as a performance artist. For him, the action, the act of drawing itself, is the essential aspect of a project. The artist built a dancefloor of sorts out of the 200 ceramic tiles he decorated with his own critical remarks about climate change. The performance elements in this case are the viewers themselves: They turn and twist around when looking at the art work.

„Daphne“ – Ines Doujak

The Austrian artist Ines Doujak shows the interplay between nature and culture, symbolized by the story of the nymph and virgin huntress Daphne from Greek mythology. She is sitting on a wooden stool in the pond behind the Visitors Center at GARTEN TULLN and taking a cigarette break while her fingertips herald her metamorphosis into a laurel. According to the myth, she asked her father the river god Peneus to bring about this transformation. She is about to cast out the large-meshed net around her waist to make a haul.

„Deep in Things“ – Emese Benczur

Emese Benczúr hails from Hungary and studied painting in Budapest – however, her artistic tool is the needle, not the brush. She sews and embroiders. In Tulln she entered the space. Mosquito nets are mounted on a framework. There is a narrow entrance through which viewers can enter the interior of an airy sculpture and proceed through a maze of parallel nets into a garden space that is both open and closed at the same time. Here the phrase “Deep in Things” becomes readable; it is formed by the superimposition of the nets. The artist is alluding to the sensual aspects of language, hiding language and then making it visible again.

Photos: (c) Christian Wachter, 2009

General map:

Kunst und Garten harmonisch vereint

 
Kunst im Garten

Kunst im Garten

Ein denkender Affe im Grünen, ein Labyrinth versteckt zwischen alten Baumriesen und Wegweiser nach Kanada im Auwald – das erwartet den Besucher, wenn er die Verbindung von Kunst und Garten in Tulln erleben möchte.

Auf Einladung von „Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Niederösterreich“ haben sich fünf Künstler und Künstlerinnen auf die Verbindung von Kunst und Garten eingelassen und dabei spannende Werke geschaffen. Zum Teil frei zugänglich im Tullner Wasserpark und zum Teil am Gelände der GARTEN TULLN, laden sie zu einem Erlebnis-Spaziergang in der grünen Garten- und Kunststadt Tulln.  

Kunstwerke im Wasserpark:

„Conversation“ – Klaus Weber

Weit draußen, auf einer Lichtung des Tullner Wasserparks, hockt ein Affe. Er sitzt auf einem Stapel Bücher und betrachtet einen menschlichen Totenkopf. Auch ein Zirkel und eine Glühbirne sind zu sehen. Geschaffen von dem Berliner Künstler Klaus Weber, ist der philosophierende Affe ein Motiv des 19. Jahrhunderts und verweist auf Charles Darwins Theorie, dass der Mensch vom Affen abstammt. Die Skulptur soll als Kritik am anthropozentrischen Weltbild gesehen werden – also daran, dass der Mensch sich selbst im Mittelpunkt der weltlichen Realität sieht. Der Affe regt zum Nachdenken an: Wer sind wir? Wie ist unser Verhältnis zu Natur und zur Welt?

„From Gasoline to Sugar Beet“ – Nils Norman

Die Skulpturen des britischen Konzeptkünstlers Nils Norman tarnen sich als Leitsystem, als harmlose Verkehrstafeln an Wegkreuzungen. Interessant sind aber die Aufschriften: Ein Pfeil zeigt in Richtung Atomkraft, in die andere Richtung geht’s zur Wasserkraft. Hier geht’s nach Brasilien, hinter den Arabischen Emiraten liegt noch die Erdwärme. Die Idee hinter dieser faszinierenden Installation: Im Gestrüpp aus energieproduzierenden Ländern, teuren Rohstoffen und alternativen Energien liegen viele Fragen brach. Mit seiner Chaosmetapher verweist Norman auf die permanente Ölkrise und die Hoffnung durch alternative Energieformen.

Kunstwerke am Gelände der GARTEN TULLN:

„Flat World!“ – Dan Perjovschi

Der rumänische Künstler Dan Perjovschi versteht die Welt, indem er sie zeichnet. Aus ein paar schnell hingeworfenen Linien und wenigen, knappen Worten werden ironische Kommentare zu Gesellschaft, Politik und Kultur. In Tulln hat Perjovschi eine seiner seltenen permanenten Arbeiten realisiert, denn er definiert sich als performativer Künstler, für den die Aktion, also das Zeichnen selbst, der wesentliche Teil eines Projekts ist. Aus 200 Keramikfliesen, die mit kritischen Anmerkungen des Künstlers zum Klimawandel dekoriert sind, baut der Künstler eine Art Tanzboden. Das performative Element geben in diesem Fall die BetrachterInnen ab: Sie drehen und wenden sich, wenn sie das Kunstwerk betrachten.

„Daphne“ – Ines Doujak

Die österreichische Künstlerin Ines Doujak zeigt das Wechselspiel von Natur und Kultur, symbolisiert durch die Geschichte der Nymphe und jungfräulichen Jägerin „Daphne“ aus der griechischen Mythologie: Auf einem Holzschemel sitzt sie im Teich hinter dem Besucherzentrum der GARTEN TULLN und legt eine Zigarettenpause ein, während sich die Metamorphose in einen Lorbeerbaum an ihren Fingerspitzen ankündigt – um diese Verwandlung hatte sie ihren Vater, den Flussgott Peneios dem Mythos zufolge gebeten. Gleich wird sie das großmaschige Netz um ihre Taille auswerfen, um Beute zu machen.

„Deep in Things“ – Emese Benczur

Emese Benczúr stammt aus Ungarn und hat in Budapest Malerei studiert – ihr künstlerisches Werkzeug ist aber die Nadel, nicht der Pinsel: Sie näht und stickt. In Tulln hat sie sich in den Raum begeben: Über ein Gerüst ist ein Moskitonetz gespannt. Durch einen schmalen Eingang gelangt man ins Innere einer luftigen Skulptur und durch ein Labyrinth parallel aufgespannter Netze in ein Gartenzimmer, das offen und geschlossen zugleich ist. Hier wird der Satz „Deep in Things“ lesbar, der durch die Überlagerung der Netze gebildet wird. Die Künstlerin spielt damit auf die sinnlichen Aspekte der Sprache an, verbirgt sie und macht sie wieder sichtbar.

Fotos: (c) Christian Wachter, 2009

Übersichtsplan: