In Ancient Roman times...

 
... Tulln was known as Comagena
... Tulln was known as Comagena

... Tulln was known as Comagena

It was winter in the 1st c AD. Roman troops were stationed along the Danube. Armed cavalry troops patrolled the northern border of the Roman Empire. It was high time to build a defense installation for protection. The ideal site was soon found. Fort Comagena sprung up overnight. And with it came the first foundation walls in Tulln. A city with a history 2000 years old.

Tulln is one of Austria’s oldest cities because of its exposed location on the banks of the Danube. The ancient Romans saw the obvious advantage of this site and founded Fort Comagena. Calvary troops stationed at Fort Comagena protected the Noric Limes and guarded the militarily important ford and fertile Tulln Basin well into the 4th c AD. From Late Antiquity on, Comagena was even a base for the Danube fleet. The fort extended over an area of around five to six ha and was manned by 1,000 mounted archers, a special unit of the Roman army along with the necessary auxiliary and staff personnel.

A guide to the historical center of Tulln is recommended for anyone interested in finding out more about the long history of Tulln and the silent witnesses to its past that still exist. The guide is available at Tourismus-Info Tulln, Minoritenplatz 2, at a price € 3.50 (to defray printing costs).

Silent witnesses to the ancient Romans

The Roman Tower and the remains of the Roman double gate (porta principalis dextra) are two such silent witnesses from the early days of Tulln. The camp had four gates in all. The site of the western gate has also been determined on the basis of calculations. The northern third of the fort was swept away by the Danube in the Early Middle Ages. There is still a Roman milestone on the road between Tulln and Königstetten. It marked one of the main connecting roads (imperial roads) and indicated the distance to Cetium (St. Pölten).

The city of Tulln has set a monument to its Roman past with the Roman Museum. Visitors can admire myriad small finds from multiple excavation sites in the heart of the city.

Roman fan tower

In 1989 another portion of the fortification of the Roman camp was uncovered in the courtyard of a public school on Wienerstrasse, namely the gangway connecting the southeastern fan tower of the camp walls with the actual tower.

These excavated walls are nearly 1.80 m wide and 2.60 m high throughout. They also belong to the later construction phase of the Roman fort in Tulln in the second half of the 4th c.

This site can only be viewed on a guided tour.

Zu Zeiten der Römer...

 
... als Tulln noch Comagena hieß
... als Tulln noch Comagena hieß

... als Tulln noch Comagena hieß

Winter im 1. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Römische Truppen haben sich entlang der Donau stationiert. Bewaffnete Reiter kontrollieren den nördlichen Grenzwall des römischen Reiches. Höchste Zeit, eine Wehranlage zu errichten, die Schutz bietet. Der richtige Ort ist bald gefunden. Kastell Comagena wächst aus dem Boden. Und mit ihm die ersten Grundmauern Tullns. Einer Stadt mit 2000-jähriger Geschichte.

Dass Tulln eine der ältesten Städte Österreichs ist, verdankt es seiner exponierten Lage direkt an den Ufern der Donau. Bereits die Römer sahen darin einen klaren Vorteil: Sie gründeten das Kastell Comagena. Bis ins 4. Jahrhundert schützten die hier stationierten Reitertruppen den norischen Limes, kontrollierten die militärisch bedeutsame Furt und überwachten das fruchtbare Tullnerfeld. Ab der Spätantike war Comagena sogar Flottenstützpunkt der Donauflotte.Das Kastell umfasste ein Fläche von ca. 5 bis 6 Hektar und hatte eine Besatzung von 1.000 Mann berittener Bogenschützen, eine Sondereinheit der römischen Armee, samt dem notwendigen Begleit- und Stabspersonal.

Wer mehr von der langen Geschichte Tullns und den noch vorhandenen stummen Zeugen erfahren möchte, dem ist der Tullner Altstadtführer empfohlen. Erhältlich um den Druckkostenbeitrag von € 3,50 in der Tourismus-Info Tulln (Minoritenplatz 2).

Stumme Zeugen der Römer

Stumme Zeugen aus dieser Gründungszeit Tullns sind der Römerturm und die Überreste des römischen Doppeltores "Porta Principalis Dextra". Insgesamt hatte das Lager vier Tore, mittels Berechnungen konnte auch der Ort des westlichen Tores ermittelt werden. Das nördliche Drittel des Lagers wurde im Frühmittelalter von der Donau weggerissen. Auf der Straße zwischen Tulln und Königstetten steht noch ein römischer Meilenstein, der eine Hauptverbindungsstraße (Reichsstraße) markierte und die Entfernung nach Cetium (St. Pölten) angab.

Mit dem Römermuseum hat die Stadt Tulln ihrer römischen Vergangenheit ein Denkmal gesetzt, hier sind u.a. zahlreiche Kleinfunde mehrerer Stadtkerngrabungenzu bestaunen.

Römischer Fächerturm
1989 wurde im Hof der Hauptschule in der Wienerstraße ein weiterer Teil der Befestigung des Römerlagers ausgegraben, nämlich der Verbindungsgang des südöstlichen Fächerturmes von den Lagermauern zum eigentlichen Turm.

Diese ausgegrabenen Mauern sind fast durchgehend 1,80 m breit und 2,60 m hoch. Auch sie gehören der späteren Bauphase des Tullner Römerlagers aus der 2. Hälfte des 4. Jahrhunderts an.

Eine Besichtigung ist nur im Rahmen von Führungen möglich.