Silent witnesses to the past

 
Unique: the Roman Tower in Tulln

Unique: the Roman Tower in Tulln

The Roman Tower (also formerly known as the Salt Tower) is a projecting horseshoe-shaped tower flanking the Roman cavalry fort Comagena in Tulln to protect the western wall of the camp, which dates from about 300 AD. It therefore belongs to the stone additions to the fort dating to Late Antiquity. In the Middle Ages, the tower helped to protect the landing stage along the Danube. 

Later it became a municipal armory and was used as a salt warehouse (hence “Salt Tower” in local parlance). From 1929 to 1967 it was a worship space for the local Protestant parish and today it is the club house of the student fraternity Comagena.

Original all the way to the roof

The tower was renovated in 1984. In the process, it was determined that the Roman walls had been preserved all the way up to roof level. It is therefore one of the few fully preserved ancient structures north of the Alps and one of the oldest buildings in Austria. The interior is not open to the public.

Porta Principalis Dextra

If you travel 2,000 years back in history, you can enter the Roman cavalry fort Comagena through the Porta principalis dextra. The remnants of the eastern double gate of the camp are silent witnesses to the Roman Empire in Tulln and can be visited daily. The complex was protected by two gates and two towers. Besides the foundations, one keystone from the arch has been preserved, as has the middle pad stone for both arches. 

The building was built out of sandstone from the Vienna Woods. The stones were smoothed beforehand and then laid in layers with Roman mortar (sand, water, lime) in-between to form the wall. Then they were rendered.

Stumme Zeugen der Vergangenheit

 
Einzigartig: Der Tullner Römerturm

Einzigartig: Der Tullner Römerturm

Der "Römerturm" (früher auch "Salzturm" genannt) ist der hufeisenförmig vorspringende Flankenturm des Tullner Römerlagers Comagena zur Sicherung der westlichen Lagermauer, der aus der Zeit um 300 n.Chr. stammt. Er gehört daher zu einer späten Ausbaustufe des Lagers in Steinbauweise. Der Turm diente im Mittelalter zur Sicherung des Landplatzes an der Donau.

Später wurde er das Zeughaus der Stadt und als Salzlager (daher die volkstümliche Bezeichnung "Salzturm") verwendet. 1929 bis 1967 war er Gottesdienstraum für die evangelische Pfarrgemeinde und heute ist er Vereinslokal der Studentenverbindung "Comagena".

Original bis unters Dach

Der Turm wurde 1984 renoviert. Dabei stellte sich heraus, dass die römischen Mauern bis zum Dachansatz original erhalten sind. Damit zählt er zu den wenigen voll erhaltenen antiken Gebäuden nördlich der Alpen und ist eines der ältesten Gebäude Österreichs. Die Besichtigung des Turmes ist nur von außen möglich.

Porta Principalis Dextra

Reist man 2.000 Jahre in die Vergangenenheit, betritt man hier das Reiterlager Comagena: Durch die Porta Prinzipalis Dextra. Die Überreste des östlichen Lager-Doppeltores sind stumme, täglich zu besichtigende Zeuge des römischen Reiches in Tulln. Die Anlage wurde von zwei Toren und zwei Türmen geschützt. Erhalten sind neben dem Fundament auch ein Keilstein des Bogens und der mittlere Auflagestein für beide Bögen. 

Das Baumaterial ist Wienerwald-Sandstein. Die vorher geglätteten Steine wurden mit römischem Mörtel (Sand, Wasser, Kalk) aufgemautert und verputzt.