Roman legacy in Tulln

 
Vestiges of the ancient Romans at every turn
Vestiges of the ancient Romans at every turn

Vestiges of the ancient Romans at every turn

Stone towers 2,000 years old, graceful vessels, statuettes, jewelry. Even a meal prepared according to original Roman recipes–traces of the ancient Romans are everywhere in and around Tulln. And they offer exciting insights into daily Roman life and culture.  

Around the birth of Christ, Roman soldiers, merchants and farmers arrived with their families to settle the sites along the Danube Limes that were in the best strategic locations. They protected the northern frontier of the Roman Empire for 500 years from barbarian invasions and conducted lively trade.  

Simply ancient

A walking tour of Tulln and a visit to the Roman Museum show just what expert builders the Romans were. The mighty stone Roman Tower has stood invincible for 2,000 years. It is one of Austria’s oldest structures and among the few Roman structures north of the Alps still standing. Remains of the fortification walls suggest the huge dimensions of Fort Comagena. A thousand cavalry troops served here–more people than most settlements had at the time. The soldiers were a good source of income for the traders and farmers who lived around the fort.

Simply worth exploring

There are impressive stone vestiges of another fort in Zeiselmauer, about 10 km from Tulln by bicycle along the Danube Bike Path. Gasthof zum lustigen Bauern, an inn right around the corner from there, serves an original multi-course meal once a month (and on request) prepared according to recipes of the Roman epicure Apicius. And if you continue along the Schubert Bike path (68 km) to Zwentendorf, you will find the site where Emperor Marcus Aurelius had a cavalry fort built. Finally, the mighty Roman Gate and Hunger Tower in Traismauer bring to mind the fort called Augustianis.

Römisches Vermächtnis in Tulln

 
Römische Erinnerungen auf Schritt und Tritt
Römische Erinnerungen auf Schritt und Tritt

Römische Erinnerungen auf Schritt und Tritt

2.000 Jahre alte Steintürme, anmutige Gefäße, Statuetten, Schmuck. Sogar ein Menü, zubereitet nach römischen Originalrezepten – in und um Tulln folgt man den Spuren der Römer. Und bekommt spannende Einblicke in deren Lebenskultur.  

Rund um Christi Geburt: römische Soldaten, Händler und Bauern mit ihren Familien besiedeln die strategisch besten Orte entlang des Donaulimes. 500 Jahre lang schützten sie die Nordgrenze ihres Reichs vor Barbareneinfällen und betreiben regen Handel.  

Einfach antik

Wie gut sich die Römer aufs Bauen verstanden, zeigt ein Rundgang durch Tulln – und ein Besuch im Römermuseum. 2.000 Jahre konnten dem mächtigen, aus Steinen erbauten Römerturm nichts anhaben. Er zählt, als eines der ältesten Gebäude Österreichs, zu den wenigen erhaltenen antiken Bauten nördlich der Alpen. Überreste der Befestigungsmauern lassen auch die Dimensionen des Kastells Comagenis erahnen. 1.000 Reiter standen hier im Dienst – mehr Menschen, als es damals in den meisten Ortschaften gab. Sie waren eine gute Einkommensquelle für Händler und Bauern, die rund um das Kastell lebten.

Einfach entdeckenswert

In Zeiselmauer, von Tulln aus per Rad am Donauradweg erreichbar (ca. 10 km), beeindrucken die steinernen Überreste eines Kastells. Gleich um die Ecke, im Gasthof „Zum lustigen Bauern“, wird jeden Monat (und auf Anfrage) ein Original-Menü nach Rezepten des römischen Feinschmeckers Apicius aufgetischt. Weiter geht´s entlang des Schubert-Radweges (68 km) nach Zwentendorf, wo Kaiser Marc Aurel ein Reiterkastell errichten ließ. Zu guter Letzt erinnern in Traismauer das mächtige Römertor und der Hungerturm an das Kastell Augustianis.