City walking tours for every pace

 
Tulln history and Tulln stories

Tulln history and Tulln stories

Tulln is a city on the Danube full of art and gardens. Are you interested in getting to know it better? A guided tour of Tulln is a perfect way to visit all the key sights and go away with solid information and amusing anecdotes on them from a competent expert. When exploring the historical center you can choose the pace you prefer, either sight-running or sight-walking. During the summer, city walking tours are conducted every last Friday of the month; tours can be booked at other times by prior arrangement.

What is special about the Roman Tower and why is it also known as the Salt Tower? What function did the Tulln charnel house have in former times? And what is the mystery behind the rat at the Nibelung Fountain? You can get answers to these and similar questions during a city walking tour of Tulln. Different tours can be booked and tailored to the interests of the participants and to the amount of walking they want to do.

Walking tours of the historical center

Tulln looks back on a long and eventful history–from its early days as a strategically valuable Roman cavalry fort and as one of the reputed venues of Lay of the Nibelung to the Middle Ages and then beyond to the achievements and milestones of recent decades. In walking tours of the historical center, you will find out about historical epochs and their effects on Tulln, about structures from several different centuries and about many details that an untrained eye might otherwise miss! Standard route: Monastery and Church of the Friars Minor, Donaulände, Marcus Aurelius Park, the parish church and charnel, Rathausplatz in front of the city hall, Hauptplatz (main square), Stadtgraben.

The tour can be tailored to the interests of the participants on request.

Dates in 2017: 

Friday, June 23
Friday, June 30
Friday, July 28
Friday, August 25
Friday, September 1

Meeting point:

5:00 p.m. at Tourismus-Info Tulln (Minoritenplatz 2, A-3430 Tulln)

Minimum group size: 15 

Prices: € 5.50 per adult / € 2.80 per child up to age 12

Further information, registration and payment at Tourismus-Info Tulln. You must register by 2 p.m. on the day of the tour!

Guided tour on Egon Schiele / Egon Schiele Trail

Tulln is Schiele City and full of places of importance from the great painter’s childhood. Special Egon Schiele tours take visitors from the birthplace and along the Egon Schiele Trail to sites of significance to the youth of this international genius. It is a chance to obtain competent expert knowledge and hear amusing anecdotes as you visit all the key Schiele sights.

Guided tour includes Schiele’s birthplace!

Dates in 2017: 

Friday, June 9
Friday, July 14
Friday, August 11

Meeting point:

5 p.m. at the square in front of the main train station (Bahnhofstrasse 69)

Duration:

About two hours, 5 p.m.–7 p.m.

Minimum group size: 15 

Prices: € 8 per adult / € 3.90 per child up to age 12

Registration: Mandatory by 2 p.m. on the day before the guided tour

Further information at Tourismus-Info Tulln

The guided tour is also conducted on rainy days!

Tip: Visit the Egon Schiele Museum Tulln or enjoy a piece of Egon Schiele torte at Café Wagner on Hauptplatz or buy yourself Egon Schiele chocolate at Weltladen Tulln.

You will find delicacies at egon2 consisting of superb macaroon compositions, handmade chocolates plus tortes und petit fours.

 

Further themed tours

In addition, you can book guided themed tours and make group reservations.  Further information on the individual tours is available at  Tourismus-Info Tulln.

  • Gardens: fantastic garden experience at GARTEN TULLN
  • Danube: sights along the Danube
  • Special interest: Agrana sugar factory (only during sugar beet campaign: annually October–January)

Sight-running and sight-walking

Here is something special for exercise enthusiasts who do not have a lot of time to explore Tulln and who also want to get in their workouts while traveling: sight-running or sight-walking, an excellent way to experience the city in a unique way. Places of interest in Tulln, wonderful insights and lookouts, or simply the most popular running routes–participants determine the topic and the route as well as the pace.

Business travelers, conference-goers and seminar participants or energetic tourists can let themselves be inspired by the many offerings along Donaulände, the Danube promenade in Tulln, while running and walking as well as enjoy the charm of the main square (Hauptplatz) and explore the unique GARTEN TULLN. The running and walking guides point out the most interesting sights and give tips about recreational options and good restaurants along the way. 

Cost of sight-running (8 km/60 minutes): € 50 for 1-2 people, € 60 for 3-4 people, larger groups on request

Cost of sight-walking on request

Stadtrundgänge für jedes Tempo

 
Geschichte und Geschichten über Tulln

Geschichte und Geschichten über Tulln

Interessiert, die Donau-, Kunst und Gartenstadt Tulln kennenzulernen? Um alle wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten untermauert mit kompetentem Fachwissen und amüsanten Anekdoten zu erleben, bieten geführte Stadtrunden die perfekte Gelegenheit. Beim Sight-Running, Sight-Walking und bei den Altstadtrundgängen kann die Stadt laufend, walkend oder spazierend erkundet werden. In den Sommermonaten finden Stadtrundgänge an jedem letzten Freitag im Monat statt, außertourliche Termine können jederzeit gebucht werden.

Was ist das besondere am Römerturm und warum wird er auch Salzturm genannt? Welche Funktion hatte der Tullner Karner in früheren Zeiten? Und welches Geheimnis rankt sich um die Ratte, die am Nibelungenbrunnen zu sehen ist? Antworten auf Fragen wie diese gibt es bei den Tullner Stadtrundgängen. Je nach Interesse und Bewegungsfreude können unterschiedliche Angebote aber auch jederzeit gebucht und individualisiert werden.

Altstadt-Rundgänge

Tulln blickt auf eine lange und bewegte Geschichte zurück - von den Anfängen als strategisch wertvolles römisches Reiterlager und als einer der vermeintlichen Schauplätze des Nibelungenliedes, über das Mittelalter bis hin zu Errungenschaften und Meilensteinen der letzten Jahrzehnte. Bei den Altstadt-Rundgängen wird über historische Epochen und ihre Auswirkungen auf Tulln, Bauwerke aus mehreren Jahrhunderten und über so manches Detail berichtet, das dem ungeschulten Auge vermutlich gar nicht auffallen würde!
Standard-Route: Minoritenkloster, Minoritenkirche, Donaulände, Marc-Aurel-Park, Stadtpfarrkirche und Karner, Rathausplatz, Hauptplatz, Stadtgraben.

Auf Anfrage kann die Führung auch nach den individuellen Interessen der Teilnehmer zusammengestellt werden.

Termine 2017:
werden im Frühjahr bekannt gegeben

Treffpunkt:
17.00 Uhr Tourismusinfo Tulln (Minoritenplatz 2, 3430 Tulln)

Mindestteilnehmerzahl: 15 Personen

Kosten: Erwachsene € 5,50 / Kinder bis 12 Jahre € 2,80

Weitere Infos, Anmeldung und Bezahlung in der Tourismus-Info Tulln. Anmeldung bis 15 Uhr am Tag der Führung unbedingt erforderlich!

Themenführung Egon Schiele / Egon Schiele-Weg

Tulln ist Schiele-Stadt und voller Schauplätze aus der Jugend des Jahrhundertkünstlers. Eigene Egon Schiele-Führungen führen ausgehend vom Geburtshaus und entlang des Egon Schiele-Weges auf die Spuren der Jugend des Weltkünstlers und bieten Gelegenheit, alle wichtigen Schiele-Schauplätze Tullns untermauert mit kompetentem Fachwissen und amüsanten Anekdoten zu erleben.

Führung im Egon Schiele-Geburtshaus inklusive!

Termine 2017:
werden im Frühjahr bekannt gegeben

Treffpunkt:
17.00 Uhr bei der ersten Station des Schiele-Weges am Vorplatz des Hauptbahnhofes (Bahnhofstraße 69)

Dauer:
ca. 2 Stunden, 17.00 – 19.00 Uhr

Mindestteilnehmerzahl: 15 Personen

Kosten: Erwachsene € 7,70 / Kinder bis 12 Jahre € 3,90

Anmeldung: unbedingt erforderlich bis 14 Uhr am Vortag der Führung

Weitere Infos in der Tourismus-Info Tulln.

Die Führung findet auch bei Regen statt!

Tipp: Besuchen Sie das Egon Schiele Museum Tulln oder genießen Sie ein Stück Egon Schiele Torte im Cafe Wagner am Hauptplatz, oder erstehen Sie die Egon Schiele Schokolade im Weltladen Tulln.

Besondere Leckerbissen bietet egon2, das Team der Taverne2, mit ausgezeichneten Markonen-Kompositionen, handgeschöpfter Schokolade sowie Torten und Petit Fours.

 

Weitere Themenführungen

Zusätzlich können Themenführungen und Gruppenbuchungen gebucht werden. Weitere Infos zu den einzelnen Führungen bei der Tourismus-Info Tulln.

  • Garten: Erleben Sie die GARTEN TULLN
  • Donau: Sehenswürdigkeiten entlang der Donau
  • Special Interest: Agrana Zuckerfabrik (nur während der Rüben-Kampagne: jährlich Oktober - Jänner)

Sight-Running und -Walking

Für alle, die wenig Zeit haben, Tulln kennenzulernen und gleichzeitig sportbegeistert sind und ihre Aktiv-Einheit auch auf Reisen nicht auslassen möchten: Sight-Running bzw. Sight-Walking ist DIE neue Möglichkeit, eine Stadt auf ganz besondere Art und Weise zu erleben. Tullner Sehenswürdigkeiten, wunderbare Ein- und Ausblicke oder einfach die beliebtesten Laufstrecken - die Teilnehmer bestimmen das Thema und damit die Route ebenso wie das Tempo.

Geschäftsreisende, Tagungs-, Kongress- und Seminar-Teilnehmer oder sportliche Touristen können sich auch laufend und walkend von den vielen Angeboten an der weiten Tullner Donaulände inspirieren lassen, den Tullner Charme am Hauptplatz spüren und einzigartige GARTEN TULLN entdecken. Die Lauf- und Walking-Guides zeigen die interessantesten Plätze und geben Tipps zu Freizeitangeboten und zu guten Restaurants an der Strecke. 

Kosten Sight-Running (8 km/60 Minuten): € 50,- für 1-2 Personen, € 60,- für 3-4 Personen, größere Gruppen auf Anfrage

Kosten Sight-Walking auf Anfrage