Green also in the future

 
Conservation given top priority
Conservation given top priority

Conservation given top priority

In its policies and administration, Tulln has shown a commitment to public green spaces, ecology and environmentally friendly mobility. This attitude has an exemplary effect on all the city’s residents and visitors.

For instance, for people educated in Tulln there is no way around the issues of nature and the environment. Preschoolers grow and harvest their own vegetables. Elementary pupils go on excursions to the Danube wetlands where they learn about the diversity of nature in their region. Students at the university of applied sciences learn about biotechnology at the Tulln Technopol campus, a subject at the interface of biology, chemistry and engineering.

Ecological awareness in all areas

Among its conservation measures, the city of Tulln has also continuously expanded the system of bicycle routes to promote low-impact mobility. As far as public green spaces are concerned, the city gardeners utilize natural alternatives instead of chemical fertilizers and sprays. For new or replacement plants, they select robust varieties suitable for the location. And Tulln is also a forward thinker in areas that do not seem to have anything to do with conservation at first glance – for instance, biodegradable dog waste bags instead of their usual plastic counterparts.

And guests?

Guests can sense this ecological way of life in the city. After a stay in Tulln, almost everyone has a greater awareness of nature. After a visit to GARTEN TULLN, almost everyone becomes an advocate of ecological gardening and landscaping. And after being caressed by nature while cycling, almost everyone walks to do nearby errands instead of driving a car.

Tulln is within nature networks

Conservation is a top priority not only in Tulln. As a city with a green heart, the Garden City is taking part in several conservation projects.

Natura 2000

Natura 2000 is a European network of more than 10,000 nature protection areas covering 360,000 square kilometers. It is intended to help preserve, for future generations, the special diversity of flora and fauna in these areas as well as habitats worthy of protection. “Tulln Basin-Danube Floodplains Bird Protection” was the first area in Lower Austria to be named a European protection area.

Vienna Woods Biosphere Park

The intent of the Vienna Woods Biosphere Park is to protect nature – wherever habitats and species require – but at the same time to transform the region into a biosphere for responsible trade and business. Biosphere areas are designated as such by UNESCO in recognition of their special cultural and natural landscapes. Tulln is a participant in climate alliance priority efforts in the Vienna Woods Biosphere Park. For more information on the Vienna Woods Biosphere Park, click here.

The Vienna Woods Declaration

The Vienna Woods Declaration is a list of protection and development goals set to preserve the Vienna Woods as a nature and recreational area for future generations. At the same time, it seeks to make the region more attractive for the general populace as a top quality economic and residential region.

Grün auch für die Zukunft

 
Naturschutz an erster Stelle
Naturschutz an erster Stelle

Naturschutz an erster Stelle

Tullns Politik und Stadtverwaltung zeigen Engagement für öffentliche Grünräume, Ökologie und umweltfreundliche Mobilität. Das hat Beispielwirkung für alle, die hier leben oder die Stadt besuchen.

Schon bei der Erziehungslaufbahn in Tulln führt kein Weg an den Themen Umwelt und Natur vorbei. Kindergartenkinder ziehen und ernten ihr eigenes Gemüse. Volksschulkinder lernen bei Ausflügen in die Au die Vielfalt der heimischen Natur kennen. An der Schnittstelle zwischen Biologie, Chemie und Technik lernen Studenten an der Fachhochschule für Biotechnologie am Campus Tulln Technopol.

Ökologisches Bewusstsein in allen Bereichen

Zu den Maßnahmen der Stadt Tulln im Bereich Naturschutz zählen auch der laufende Ausbau des Radverkehrsnetzes, um die sanfte Mobilität zu fördern. Im Bereich der öffentlichen Grünflächen setzen die Stadtgärtner auf natürliche Alternativen statt chemischen Dünge- und Spritzmitteln. Bei Neu- und Nachpflanzungen setzt man auf standortgerechte, robuste Sorten.

Und die Gäste?

Und die Gäste spüren die ökologische Lebensweise in Tulln. Kaum einer, der sich nach einem Aufenthalt in Tulln nicht bewusster in der Natur bewegt. Kaum einer, der nach den Eindrücken der GARTEN TULLN nicht auf ökologische Gartengestaltung setzt. Und kaum einer, der kurze Wege wieder mit dem Auto zurücklegt, wenn einem doch mit dem Fahrrad die Natur so schön in der Nase kitzelt.

Tulln ist Teil von Natur-Netzwerken

Nicht nur in Tulln wird der Naturschutz groß geschrieben. Als Stadt mit grünem Herzen beteiligt sich die Gartenstadt an mehreren Naturschutz-Projekten.

Natura 2000

Natura 2000 ist ein europaweites Netz von mehr als zehntausend Schutzgebieten mit einer Gesamtfläche von 360.000 km², durch das besondere Tier- und Pflanzenarten sowie schutzwürdige Lebensräume uns und zukünftigen Generationen erhalten bleiben soll. Als erstes Gebiet in  Niederösterreich wurde  das "Vogelschutzgebiet Tullnerfelder Donau-Auen" zum Europaschutzgebiet ernannt. Mehr Infos zum Vogelschutzgebiet Tullnerfelder Donau-Auen gibt es hier.

Biosphärenpark Wienerwald

Der Biosphärenpark Wienerwald möchte die Natur schützen - dort wo Lebensräume und Arten diesen Schutz brauchen - aber gleichzeitig die Region zu einer Lebensregion für verantwortungsvolles Wirtschaften und Handeln zu entwickeln. Biosphärenparke sind von der Unesco ausgezeichnete Gebieten mit besonderen Kultur- und Naturlandschaften. Tulln ist Teilnehmer am Klimabündnisschwerpunkt im Biosphärenpark Wienerwald. Mehr Infos zum Bioshärenpark Wienerwald gibt es hier.

Die Wienerwald-Deklaration

Die Wienerwald-Deklaration ist ein Katalog von Schutz- und Entwicklungszielen, die den Wienerwald als Natur- und Erholungsraum für künftige Generationen erhalten sollen. Gleichzeitig kann die Region als hochwertiger Wirtschafts- und Lebensraum für die Bevölkerung an Attraktivität gewinnen. Mehr Infos zur Wienerwald-Deklaration gibt es hier.