Verdant nature all around

 
Water park: verdant idyll in the heart of the city
Water park: verdant idyll in the heart of the city

Water park: verdant idyll in the heart of the city

Right between the stunning green spaces of GARTEN TULLN and Donaulände, visitors can find nature in yet another idyllic form: the water park right in the heart of Tulln. As an unspoiled, riverside forest it intentionally contrasts with the man-made green oases of the Garden City. It is a Dorado of naturalness and ideal for leaving daily cares behind.

The 12 km of trails in the 450,000 square meters of pristine nature that make up this water park are free to use all year round and are inviting places to walk or cycle. They offer tranquility, fresh air and space galore. You can also take a boat on 5 km of waterways to explore the intricate intertwined bodies of water along with the biodiversity of riverbank and water flora.

Lowland riparian forest up close

There is hardly another city that is so directly connected with nature. Tulln Water Park extends to the very heart of the Garden City. For a long time, this gem of nature between the fairgrounds and the Grosse Tulln and Danube rivers was hardly used. The wild riverside forest was too impassable. The old arms of the Danube in it had been drained 120 years before when flood control systems were installed.

The city of Tulln then turned to the task of rendering this natural gem accessible to locals and guests while retaining its natural character. In a comprehensive revitalization project, the water park was created to serve as an incomparable recreational area. The revitalized old arms of the Danube are inviting places to encounter this natural wilderness, as are the appealing system of trails, also usable by people with limited mobility.

Revitalization – a project in naturalness

The old arms of the Danube in the area of today’s water park were full of life and biodiversity 120 years ago when they were drained. In a revitalization project, the old arms were deepened again and filled with water from the Danube. The available tow paths were widened and surfaced.

The ecological revitalization project was based on a study that Tulln had commissioned the university professor Bernd Lötsch and the Natural History Museum to do in 1998. The implementation proposal incorporated the ecological landscape conditions and site situation as well as the vegetation that was in place. With his suggestions, the ecologist sought to revitalize the old arms, which had been partially silted up and filled in.  As a result, there was an increase in resettlement by a wide variety of animal species, especially water birds, and threatened riverbank and water plants resettled naturally within only a few vegetation periods.

Through the water park in 5,000 steps

Walking is healthy for human beings and the environment. And yet we walk less and less to get from one place to another. If this lack of exercise becomes habitual, people can harm both body and mind. If we would walk more, our lives would be better. It is as simple as that!

Tulln has set up a special trail (“Tut gut”-Schritteweg = “Do-Yourself-a-Favor” Step Trail) around GARTEN TULLN to give people an easy way to increase the number of steps they take. It is suitable for almost anyone. The 3.5 km long route is easy to walk and a person needs somewhat more than 5,000 steps to cover it.

The circular route starts at Seerosenbrücke, a bridge on Donaulände, and passes through the water park around the perimeter of GARTEN TULLN. The route is marked with directional arrows. The trail is smooth enough for baby carriages and strollers. Even athletically untrained people will have no trouble walking it and they largely stay in the shade. The surface is mostly asphalt and in some places gravel.

Eintauchen ins Grün

 
Wasserpark: Grüne Idylle im Zentrum
Wasserpark: Grüne Idylle im Zentrum

Wasserpark: Grüne Idylle im Zentrum

Direkt zwischen den prächtig gestalteten Grünräumen GARTEN TULLN und Donaulände finden Besucher eine andere Form der Natur-Idylle: Der Wasserpark liegt direkt im Zentrum Tullns und bildet als naturbelassener Auwald einen bewussten Kontrast zu den angelegten Grünoasen der Gartenstadt - ein Eldorado der Natürlichkeit und um die Seele baumeln zu lassen.

Die 12 km Wege inmitten reinster Natur des 450.000 m² großen Wasserparks sind ganzjährig frei nutzbar und laden zum Spazieren, Radfahren und Walken ein. Sie bieten Ruhe, frische Luft und viel Raum für Bewegung. Auf 5 km Wasserwegen lässt sich das verzweigte Gewässernetz samt artenreicher natürlicher Ufer- und Wasserpflanzen auch mit dem Boot erkunden.

Auwald hautnah erleben

Kaum eine andere Stadt ist so direkt mit der Natur verbunden: Der Tullner Wasserpark erstreckt sich bis ans Zentrum der Gartenstadt. Lange Zeit wurde das Naturjuwel zwischen Großer Tulln, Messegelände und Donau kaum genutzt. Zu unwegsam war der wilde Auwald, dessen Donau-Altarme vor 120 Jahren im Zuge der Donauregulierung trockengelegt wurden.

Die Stadt Tulln machte es sich zum Auftrag, das Naturjuwel für BürgerInnen und Gäste zugänglich zu machen und gleichzeitig seine Natürlichkeit zu bewahren. In einem umfassenden Revitalisierungsprojekt entstand daher der Wasserpark als unvergleichliches Freizeit- und Naherholungsgebiet: Revitalisierte Donau-Altarme und ein attraktives - auch für bewegungseingeschränkte Personen nutzbares - Wegenetz laden zu einem Erlebnis inmitten der wilden Natur.

 

Revitalisierung - ein Projekt für die Natürlichkeit

Vor 120 Jahren wurden die lebens- und artenreichen Donau-Altarme im Bereich des heutigen Wasserparks trockengelegt. In einem Revitalisierungsprojekt wurden die Altarme wieder vertieft und mit Donauwasser befüllt. Die vorhandenen Treppelpfade wurden verbreitert und befestigt.

Grundlage des ökologischen Revitalisierungsprojektes war eine 1998 von der Stadtgemeinde Tulln bei Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bernd Lötsch und dem Naturhistorischem Museum in Auftrag gegebene Studie. Für den Umsetzungsvorschlag wurden landschaftsökologische Bedingungen und Standortgegebenheiten einbezogen und die vorhandene Vegetation aufgenommen. Die Vorschläge des Ökologen zielten auf eine Wiederbelebung der teilweise verlandeten und verschütteten Altarme.  Eine verstärkte Wiederbesiedlung durch unterschiedlichste Tierarten, vor allem Wasservögel, und mit der natürlichen Ansiedlung von bedrohten Ufer- und Wasserpflanzen innerhalb nur weniger Vegetationsperioden waren die Folge.

Mit 5000 Schritten durch den Wasserpark

Gehen ist gesund für Mensch und Umwelt. Und doch legen wir immer weniger Wege zu Fuß zurück. Wird die Bewegungsarmut zum Dauerzustand, so schadet das nicht nur dem Körper, sondern auch dem Geist. Würden wir mehr gehen, würde es uns schlicht und einfach besser gehen!

Der Tullner Tut gut!-Schritteweg rund um DIE GARTEN TULLN bietet eine gute Möglichkeit, seine eigene Schrittebilanz aufzubessern und eignet sich nahezu für Jedermann. Die leicht zu bewältigende Strecke hat eine Länge von 3,5 km und schlägt sich mit einem Mehr an rund 5000 Schritten zu Buche.

Der Rundweg startet bei der Seerosenbrücke an der Tullner Donaulände und führt durch den Wasserpark rund um DIE GARTEN TULLN. Die Wegstrecke ist durch Richtungspfeile gekennzeichnet. Der Schritteweg ist kinderwagentauglich, auch für untrainierte Menschen leicht zu bewältigen und verläuft größtenteils im Schatten. Der Untergrund ist größtenteils ein Asphalt-Weg mit geschotterten Teilstücken.

 

 

Newsletter Anmeldung