Bicycles and water in the region

 

Every season augurs its own fun and excitement, whether on a bicycle or at the romantic beach baths along the Danube. Clear views are guaranteed. As is enjoyable recreation. A dense system of bike paths covers this mostly flat countryside. The bike paths follow the Danube, go into cities and through wine-growing regions. Idyllic swimming spots are plentiful in the old-time beach baths directly on the Danube and its old arms.

Pedaling away
You can ride like the wind downstream on the Danube Bike Path. Paths keep forking off to the backcountry, taking you to cellar-lined roads, castles and monasteries, to museums and into local cities. The free cycling map for the Tulln Danube Region Wagram, Traisen Valley and St. Pölten provides an excellent overview of all bike routes in the region.

Crossing to the other side
To cross to the other side, you can take a ride on one of the last cable ferries on the Danube. It travels back and forth between Korneuburg and Klosterneuburg. Other ways to cross the Danube include the two newly built Danube bridges in Traismauer, in Tulln and at the Danube power stations in Altenwörth and Greifenstein.

Swimming in the Danube
The old arms near the Altenwörth and Greifenstein weirs have invitingly secluded swimming spots for refreshing summer fun. Another favorite meeting place is  Aubad Tulln. In the middle of 30 ha of recreational landscape there is a big swimming lake that has an island with water slides plus facilities for ball games. One of the top outdoor baths in Austria is Strombad Kritzendorf near Klosterneuburg, built in the early 20th c. Its red historical swimming huts are witnesses to these earlier times.

Boating in lowland riparian forest
Canoeing in the Tulln Water Park is another great outdoor activity. There are 5 km of waterways to explore the intertwined bodies of water here on a boat ride. Summer augurs fun and excitement whether you are cycling, on a river cruise or at the old-time beach baths along the Danube.

Rad & Wasser in der Region

 

Ob beim Rad fahren oder im romantischen Donau-Strandbad. Jede Saison verheisst Anregendes. Freie Sicht ist hierzulande garantiert. Und genussvolle Erholung ebenso. Ein feinmaschiges Radwegenetz verläuft durchs vorwiegend ebene Land. Die Radwege begleiten die Donau, führen in Städte und durch die Weinbaugebiete. Idyllische Badeplätze finden sich in den nostalgischen Strandbädern, direkt an der Donau und an ihren Altarmen.

Auf dem Drahtesel
Flott wie der Wind rollt es sich stromabwärts auf dem Donauradweg dahin. Immer wieder zweigen Wege ins Hinterland ab und führen in die Kellergassen, zu Schlössern und Stiften, zu Museen und hinein in die Städte. Die kostenlose Radkarte Tullner Donauraum Wagram, Traisental und St. Pölten gibt einen hervorragenden Überblick über sämtliche Radwege in der Region.

Übersetzen ans andere Ufer
Wer ans andere Ufer wechseln möchte, unternimmt eine Fahrt auf einer der letzten Rollfähren der Donau: Sie verkehrt zwischen Korneuburg und Klosterneuburg. Weitere Möglichkeiten zum Überqueren der Donau bieten sich beider neu errichteten Donaubrücke Traismauer, in Tulln sowie bei den Donaukraftwerken Altenwörth und Greifenstein.

Flussbaden in der Donau
An den Altarmen nahe der Staustufen Altenwörth und Greifenstein laden lauschige Badeplätze zur sommerlichen Erfrischung. Beliebter Treffpunkt ist auch das Aubad in Tulln: Inmitten der 30 Hektar großen Erholungslandschaft rund um einen großen Badesee mit Insel gibt es Wasserrutschen und Ballspielplätze. Zu einem der ersten Freiluftbäder Österreichs zählt das Strombad Kritzendorf bei Klosterneuburg, das Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts gebaut wurde: an diese Zeit erinnern die roten historischen Badehütten.

Bootfahren im Auwald
Sportlich betätigen kann man sich auch beim Kanufahren im Wasserpark Tulln. Auf 5 km Wasserwegen lässt sich bei einer Bootsfahrt das verzweigte Gewässernetz erkunden. Ob beim Radfahren, bei einem Ausflug per Schiff oder im romantischen Donau-Strandbad: Der Sommer verheißt Anregendes.