Gardens and routes throughout the region

 
Gardens characterize the region
Gardens characterize the region
Gardens characterize the region
Gardens characterize the region

Gardens characterize the region

The widest variety of gardens shapes this region. Gardens are places of relaxation, movement and favorite destinations for people who love to explore. Strollers, hikers and cyclists delight in the sweeping vistas and multi-faceted landscapes. Vineyards alternate with neatly tended gardens and orchards, forests and ravines. For the big picture, climb to one of the lookout points.

GARTEN TULLN

GARTEN TULLN is located in the lowland riparian forest along the Danube. Visitors can explore more than 60 model gardens here. There are spots in the gardens with comfortable lounging furniture, audio installations and a restaurant, all inviting places to linger. The treetop trail affords a unique view of the riparian forest. This 30 m high lookout tower has multiple levels, stairways and platforms and offers a fantastic view over the treetops. A forest maze challenges visitors to find their way through. Revitalized old arms of the Danube invite visitors on a special encounter with nature – a canoe ride through the Danube wetlands. Families and children can look forward to a varied and diverse program.

Klosterneuburg Abbey: in the monastic garden

The 16,000 square meter monastic garden of the monastery of the Augustinian Canons in Klosterneuburg is a green oasis. Along with domestic plants, it also has exotic ones to admire. The orangery was built in the Biedermeier era by the architect Josef Kornhäusel and is considered a Neoclassicist gem. The section in front of the orangery is in Baroque style whereas most of the garden is modeled on an ideal English garden. In addition, the nursery opens its gates for the Gartentage garden festival in even years and for the largest orchid exhibition in Austria in odd years. The gardens and the abbey as a whole can be explored on themed guided tours.

Vistas and prospects

The “Corkscrew Lookout Tower” affords stunning panoramic views of the vineyards in the Traisen Valley near the Eichberger and Ahrenberger cellar-lined roads.

The lookout tower near Fels am Wagram (Felser Warte) offers a view of Wagram and its loess terraces. And the lookout tower on Tulbinger Kogel offers a sweeping panoramic view of the Vienna Woods and the Danube Valley.

Old-growth forest and wetlands

The Stockerauer Au Nature Preserve makes it possible for rare species of animals, trees and other plants to develop undisturbed. A 23 km system of trails invites visitors to stroll, run and cycle to their heart’s content (connection to Danube Bike Path). An educational nature trail to the nursery gives interesting insights into this river bottom ecosystem and the types of trees most often found here.

Gärten & Wege in der Region

 
Vielfältige Gärten prägen die Region
Vielfältige Gärten prägen die Region
Vielfältige Gärten prägen die Region
Vielfältige Gärten prägen die Region

Vielfältige Gärten prägen die Region

Gärten sind Orte der Entspannung, Bewegung und gern besuchte Ziele für Entdeckungsfreudige. Weite Ausblicke und eine facettenreich strukturierte Landschaft erfreuen Spaziergänger, Wanderer und Radfahrer. Weingärten wechseln mit Kulturgärten, Obstgärten, Wäldern und Klammen. Den großen Überblick bekommen jene, die einen der Aussichtspunkte erklimmen.

DIE GARTEN TULLN
Im Auwaldgebiet liegt DIE GARTEN TULLN. Hier können Besucher über 60 Mustergärten erkunden. Gartenplätze mit bequemen Liegen, Klanginstallationen und ein Restaurant laden zum Ausruhen ein. Einen einzigartigen Blick von oben auf den Auwald genießt man vom Baumwipfelweg. Dieser 30 Meter hohe Aussichtsturm besteht aus mehreren Ebenen, Stiegenläufen und Podesten und bietet einen fantastischen Ausblick über die Baumkronen hinweg und ein Waldirrgarten lädt zur Suche nach dem richtigen Weg. Revitalisierte Donau-Altarme laden zu einem Naturerlebnis der besonderen Art ein – einer Kanufahrt durch die Tullner Donauauen. Das Programm und Angebot für Familien und Kinder ist bunt und vielfältig.

Stift Klosterneuburg: im Konventgarten
Ein grünes Refugium ist der 16.000 m2 große Konventgarten des Augustiner Chorherrenstiftes Klosterneuburg. Neben heimischen Pflanzen gibt es auch Exotisches zu bestaunen. Die Orangerie, in der Biedermeierzeit von Architekt Josef Kornhäusel geschaffen, gilt als klassizistisches Juwel. Der Teil vor der Orangerie entspricht der barocken Gartengestaltung, der Großteil aber dem englischen Gartenideal. Zusätzlich öffnet die Gärtnerei ihre Pforten für die Gartentage in den geraden Jahren und für die größte österreichische Orchideenausstellung jeweils in den ungeraden Jahren. Die Gärten, sowie das gesamte Stift können besonders gut im Rahmen von Themenführungen erkundet werden.

Weite und Ausblick
Besonders schöne Rundblicke über die Weinberge im Traisental genießt man vom Aussichtsturm »Korkenzieher« nahe der Eichberger und Ahrenberger Kellergasse. Von der Felser Warte öffnet sich der Blick über den Wagram und seine Lössterrassen. Zauberhaft ist der Panoramablick über den Wienerwald und das Donautal von der Aussichtswarte auf dem Tulbinger Kogel.

Urwald und Au
Das Naturschutzgebiet der Stockerauer Au bietet seltenen Tier-, Baum- und Pflanzenarten eine ungestörte Möglichkeit zur Entwicklung. Ein Wegenetz von insgesamt 23 km Länge lädt zum Spazierengehen, Laufen und Radfahren (mit Anbindung an den Donauradweg) ein. Ein Naturlehrpfad zur Waldschule vermittelt Wissenswertes über das Ökosystem Au und die am häufigsten vorkommenden Baumarten.