Strolling on the Danube promenade

 
Tulln and it's string of pearls
Tulln and it's string of pearls

Tulln and it's string of pearls

Donaulände is the beautifully laid-out and lovingly cared for Danube promenade in the center of Tulln, a town well-known for its gardens and its art. You can stroll or easily cycle from one sight to the next in a matter of minutes. These highlights are lined up along Donaulände like a string of pearls.

Garten Tulln and Wasserpark Tulln

A visit to GARTEN TULLN is the best way to start a relaxing stroll on Donaulände. GARTEN TULLN is Europe’s first permanent garden show geared to sustainability and ecology. From there, Donaulände takes you through the idyllic water park. Wasserpark Tulln consists of old arms of the Danube that have been ecologically revitalized plus an appealing system of routes. Great recreation is guaranteed – also if you are boating

Art on the Danube

The middle section of Donaulände around the Monastery of Friars Minor is particularly interesting as a center of art and culture. From the water park, you walk along Donaulände through the beautifully landscaped park right past Hundertwasser’s ship Regentag, which is at anchor in the marina Gästehafen Tulln. The Monastery and Church of the Friars Minor are two architectural monuments well-worth seeing. On continuing your leisurely stroll, you soon happen upon additional highlights. The Roman Museum is devoted to the origins of Tulln and features original finds, pictures and models. In the late 1970s, the foundations of the Porta Principalis dextra, the eastern double gate to the Roman fort formerly at this site. The well-preserved Roman Tower is one of Austria’s oldest structures and one of the few original Roman structures in Northern Europe.

Tulln an der Donau, birthplace of Egon Schiele

The Egon Schiele Museum covers the early years of the Austrian Expressionist painter Egon Schiele, the most famous son of Tulln. The museum has been a fixed point in the cultural landscape of Tulln since 1990 and focuses especially on early works by Schiele. A bit further along is the Donaubühne, an imposing open-air stage directly on the Danube devoted to contemporary music and culture. Concerts and special events for young and old are held here throughout the summer.

Five minute walk from Donaulände to the center of Tulln

Not far from Donaulände is Hauptplatz, the recently refurbished historical main square, also known as “Tulln’s living room.” It is the perfect place in the lively historical center for strolling and leisurely shopping. Enjoy the outdoor cafes and restaurants, the extensive plantings of trees, flowers and grass, the areas for resting and for special events. Wiener Strasse, Rudolfstrasse and Rathausplatz are the traditional shopping streets and equally inviting for leisurely strolls.

Danube landing: from floodplain to recreational area

The fate of the city of Tulln has always been determined by its location on the Danube and the possibilities for crossing the river at this point. The landing was a trade and transshipment point for Tulln in the Middle Ages. Flood control systems were not put in place here until the second half of the 19th c. Until that time, the Danube formed an almost impassable and multi-branched river landscape that changed constantly.

The Danube was not only a lifeline, it was also a constant threat to the city because of dangerous flooding. This danger was put in permanent check when extensive dams were built for the Danube power station at Greifenstein (1984). After the power station was completed, Tulln was free to transform the Danube landing into a large recreational area. It extends from the mouth of the Grosse Tulln River near Rosenbrücke all the way to Langenlebarn. It is landscaped and offers many opportunities for recreation and sports.

Flanieren am großen Strom

 
Die Perlenkette Tullns
Die Perlenkette Tullns

Die Perlenkette Tullns

Die Donaulände ist das attraktiv gestaltete und liebevoll gepflegte Zentrum der Garten- und Kunststadt Tulln an der Donau. Bei einem Spaziergang oder einer gemütlichen Radfahrt gelangt man in wenigen Minuten von einer Sehenswürdigkeit zur nächsten, was die Donaulände zu einer wahren Perlenkette der Stadt macht.

Garten Tulln und Wasserpark

Einen entspannten Spaziergang an der Donaulände startet man am besten mit einem Besuch der GARTEN TULLN. Die GARTEN TULLN ist die erste Gartenschau Europas, die auf Nachhaltig­keit und Ökologie ausgerichtet ist. Danach führt der Weg an der Donaulände durch den idyllischen Wasserpark: Mit ökologisch revitalisierten Donau-Altarmen und einem attraktiven Wegenetz bietet der Tullner Wasserpark ein reizvolles Freizeiterlebnis - auch beim Bootfahren

Kunst an der Donau

Besonders das mittlere Stück der Donaulände rund um das Minoritenkloster ist ein sehenswertes Zentrum für Kunst und Kultur. Ausgehend vom Wasserpark spaziert man an der prächtig gestalteten Donaulände direkt am Hundertwasser-Schiff "Regentag" vorbei, das im Gästehafen hinter dem Minoritenkloster vor Anker liegt. Absolut sehenswerte Bauwerke der frühen Neuzeit sind das Minoritenkloster und die Minoritenkirche. Spaziert man gemächlich weiter, erwarten den kulturbegeisterten Besucher weitere Highlights: Das Römermuseum ist der Entstehungszeit Tullns gewidmet und zeigt Originalfunde, Bilder und Modelle. Ende der 1970-er Jahre entdeckte man die Grundfesten der Porta Prinzipalis Dextra, des östlichen Doppeltores zum ehemaligen römischen Lager. Zu den ältesten Bauwerken Österreichs und den in Nordeuropa wenigen originalen Römerbauten zählt der gut erhaltene Römerturm.

Schiele-Stadt Tulln an der Donau

Ein Teil jüngerer Geschichte rund um den berühmtesten Sohn Tullns findet sich im Egon Schiele Museum. Das Museum ist seit 1990 ein Fixpunkt der Kulturlandschaft der Stadt Tulln und zeigt insbesondere Schieles Frühwerk. Kunst und Kultur der Gegenwart gibt es auf der Donaubühne: Den ganzen Sommer über finden auf der imposanten Freiluftbühne direkt an der Donau Konzerte und Veranstaltungen für Groß und Klein statt.

Von der Donaulände in 5 Minuten ins Zentrum

Nicht weit von der Donaulände liegt "Tullns Wohnzimmer", der neu gestaltete, historische Hauptplatz. Schanigärten, großzügige Grünflächen und blühende Blumenbeete, Ruhezonen sowie Veranstaltungs­flächen bilden den perfekten Ort zum Flanieren und zum gemütlichen Shoppen in den vielfältigen Geschäften. Ebenfalls gemütlich Bummeln lässt es sind in den traditionellen Einkaufsstraßen Wienerstraße, Rudolfstraße und am Rathausplatz.

Die Donaulände: Vom Überschwemmungs- zum Erholungsgebiet

Die Lage an der Donau mit der Möglichkeit des Donauüberganges bestimmt seit jeher die Schicksale der Stadt. Die Lände war im Mittelalter Handels- und Warenumschlagplatz für Tulln. Die Donau wurde erst in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts reguliert, bis dahin bildete sie eine unwegsame und verzweigte Stromlandschaft, die sich ständig änderte.

Die Donau war aber nicht nur Lebensader, sondern durch ihre gefährlichen Hochwasser auch eine ständige Bedrohung für die Stadt. Endgültig gebannt wurde diese erst durch die Dammbauten für das Donaukraftwerk Greifenstein (1984). Nach Errichtung des Kraftwerkes konnte die Donaulände als Erholungsraum großzügig neu gestaltet werden. Sie reicht von der Einmündung der Großen Tulln bei der Rosenbrücke bis nach Langenlebarn, ist gärtnerisch prächtig gestaltet und bietet für Erholung und Sport viele Möglichkeiten.